Platinum Apple Awards

Platinum Apple Award LogoPlatinum Apple Awards

The Platinum Apple awards are UTLA's way of honoring our own. Each year schools have an opportunity to nominate a current UTLA member deserving recognition for excellence in education, dedication toward their students and their profession. The best part of the Platinum Apple awards is that the winners are nominated by their peers.Winners are honored at an annual awards dinner.

View/download Invitation/Registration Form


2015 Platinum Apple Award Nomination Packet

Deadline to file nominations is Friday, March 13, 2015 by 5 p.m. (see packet)

Each UTLA chapter may submit a nomination for this great award, given by our own, for our own, for excellence in education. Your school should hold a nomination meeting to select your nominee; all members are encouraged to participate. Winners will be honored at Taix French Restaurant in Los Angeles on Friday, May 15, 2015.

(Requires Adobe Acrobat Reader)

2014 Award Winners


2014 Platinum Apple Award WinnersHonored Friday, May 2, 2014 at the Taix restaurant in Los Angeles from left to right: Juan Noguera, Meteka Bullard, Isagani Celzo, Phillip Gerlach, Amparo Navarro-Martin, (Mr. Mones) accepting for Luz Stella Mones, José A. Vergara, Sibyl Walton and Kathie Donner. *Not present, Mark Johnsen.

Platinum Apple Award Winner Video Graphic

Luz Stella Mones
Meteka Bullard
Amapro Navarro-Martin
José A. Vergara
Sibyl Walton
Phillip Gerlach
Mark Johnsen
Isagani Celzo
Kathie Donner
Juan Noguera

Educational Audiologist:
Mallorie Evans

Congratulations to our honorees:
  • Luz Stella Mones, Gledhill Early Education Center
  • Meteka Bullard, Baldwin Hills Gifted Magnet Center
  • Amparo Navarro-Martin, Harmony Elementary School
  • José A. Vergara, Miramonte Elementary School
  • Sibyl Walton, Carson-Gore Academy of Environmental Studies
  • Phillip Gerlach, Markham Middle School
  • Mark Johnsen, Sherman Oaks Center for Enriched Studies
  • Isagani Celzo, Marquez High School of Social Justice
  • Kathie Donner, Chatsworth High School
  • Juan Noguera, Evans Community Adult School

Special Recognition: Educational Audiologists

Marlton Audiologic Resource Unit: Los Angeles
  • Mallorie Evans (Chapter Chair)
  • Stephanie Pogorelsky
  • Stacey Moore
  • Maria Pezzulo
West Valley Audiologic Resource Unit at Daniel Pearl Journalism Magnet High School: Lake Balboa
  • Sandy Keaton
  • Susan Diaz-Rempel
  • Suzanne Holowecky
  • Simon Devilly
  • Patty Klein
Audiologic Resource Unit at Doyle Career Transition Center: Gardena
  • Angela Ross
  • Andrea Reed
  • Pamela Kirkham
  • Gwen Severance
Audiologic Resource Unit at Perez Career Transition Center: East Los Angeles
  • Rima Baumberger
  • Tim Yamasaki
  • Cheryl Palfrey

2013 Award Winners


Congratulations to our honorees: 2013 Platinum Apple Award Winner Photo

  • Nie Li, Roberti Early Education Center
  • Maria Lourdes Salazar, Willow Elementary
  • Zulma Tobar, Harmony Elementary
  • Maria Vara, Arminta Street Elementary
  • Hugo Heermann, Irving Middle School (not shown)
  • Patricia Sharp, Markham Middle School
  • Kathryn Stevens, Ochoa Learning Center
  • Tammy Bird, Carson High School
  • Eric Dettenmaier, Canoga Park High School
  • Tanya Lentz, Metropolitan Continuation High School
Platinum_Apple_Invitation_2015.pdf326.72 KB