Standing Committees

Current Standing Committees

UTLA Standing Committees help formulate UTLA policy and contract proposals, hold educational conferences and field trips, and sponsor scholarship awards. Committees reflect a wide range of interests and specialties, from physical education to National Board certification to school safety. Membership in committees is open to all UTLA members. The best way to get involved is to attend one of the committees' regular meetings.

Click here for 2014-15 Meeting Dates and Times

Adult EdMatthew Kogan
Evans CAS
African-AmericanFrances M. CopelandMaya Angelou SJS
Arts Education CommitteeGinger Rose Fox
Itinerant Elementary Arts Program
Asian-PacificJennie Duggan
E.P.Willenberg SEC
Bilingual EducationMarina Salas
Hoover Street ES
Capably Disabled Teachers CommitteeCarol Conner
Baldwin Hills ES
Displaced Teachers--
Early Childhood Education


Educational Policies & Curriculum--
Elementary CommitteeIngrid Gunnell
Robert Hill Lane ES
Gay and Lesbian Issues (GALIC)Donald Willis
Health and Human ServicesJohn Paul Cabrera
PSW Itinerant ESC - East
Human RightsDavid Feldman
Inner CityMel House
Elementary PE
Instructional CoachesAnnie Grenseman
Nightingale MS
Kindergarten Teachers--
Library ProfessionalsBlair Carroll
Millikan MS
Middle SchoolEric Bidna
Military & Veteran's Affairs --
Multi-Track Year RoundJosefina Trujillo-Gomez
Pinewood ES
National Board Certified TeachersScott Mandel
Pacoima MS
Non-Classroom/Non-School Site--
OptionsJeff Pott
City of Angels - Bellvue
PACEMarco Flores-
Physical Education--
Pre-Retirement IssuesSydney Hillery
Coliseum Street ES
Professional Rights and Responsibilities  
PsychologistsJulie Schoenfeld
Raza EducationKelly Flores
Maya Angelou
Salary and School Finance

Lisa Karahalios

Millikan MS
School/Community RelationsLorena Valenzuela
Judith Baca Arts Academy
Secondary CommitteeDiane Newell
Secondary School CounselorsReina Gallardo
Thomas Jefferson HS
Special EducationLucia Arias
Knollwood Prep Academy
SubstitutesKaren Morgan 
Support Cadre Resisting Administrative Maltreatment (SCRAM)--
Unjustly Jailed Teachers CommitteeArlene Schery
UTLA-represented Charter Schools--
Violence Prevention and School SafetyMark Wilkins
Lincoln HS
Women's EducationLinda Guthrie
Thomas Starr King MS

*updated July 2014