Standing Committees

Current Standing Committees

UTLA Standing Committees help formulate UTLA policy and contract proposals, hold educational conferences and field trips, and sponsor scholarship awards. Committees reflect a wide range of interests and specialties, from physical education to National Board certification to school safety. Membership in committees is open to all UTLA members. The best way to get involved is to attend one of the committees' regular meetings.

Click here for 2013-14 Meeting Dates and Times

CommitteeChairLocation
Adult EdMatthew Kogan
matthewkogan7@gmail.com
Evans CAS
African-AmericanFrances M. Copeland
drdean@aol.com
Jefferson HS
Arts Education CommitteeGinger Rose Fox
gingfox@sbcglobal.net
-
Asian-PacificJennie Duggan
jduggan@utla.net
Willenberg Sp Ed Ctr
Bilingual EducationMarina Salas
msalasbilder@utla.net
Hoover St ES
Capably Disabled Teachers CommitteeJanis Lukstein
calkeypals@aol.com
Substitute in Harbor Area Secondary
Subs South Calling Area Chapter Chair
Displaced TeachersLaurie Woefel
heldinlove@aol.com
-
Early Childhood Education

Martha Bayer
martbay1@hotmail.com

-
Educational Policies & CurriculumBianca Sanchez
bsanchez21@gmail.com
NOW Academy
Elementary CommitteeIngrid Gunnell
igunnell@hotmail.com
LAUSD
Gay and Lesbian Issues (GALIC)Donald Willis
donaldawillis1@aol.com
Cimarron Ave ES
Health and Human ServicesNancy Hill
njhill88@gmail.com
LAUSD
Human RightsDavid Feldman
radiohead261@aol.com
Vista MS
Inner CityErika Jones
erilyj@aol.com
Angeles Mesa
Instructional CoachesAnnie Grenseman
grensem@aol.com
Nightingale Middle School
Kindergarten TeachersNo current chair-
Library ProfessionalsMelinda Buterbaugh
melinda.buterbaugh@gmail.com
Monroe SH
Middle SchoolJohn Skidmore
jskidmore@utla.net
Mulholland MS
Military & Veteran's Affairs Created May 22, 2013-
Multi-Track Year RoundJosefina Trujillo-Gomez
finalu@yahoo.com
 
Pinewood ES
National Board Certified TeachersScott Mandel
mandel@pacificnet.net
Pacoima MS
Non-Classroom/Non-School SiteNo current chair-
OptionsJeff Pott
jjpott@utla.net
City of Angels
PACEMarco Flores
m_a_flores@yahoo.com
-
Physical EducationMaria Isabel Molina
mimolina_11@yahoo.com
Yoka
Pre-Retirement IssuesDr. Sandy Keaton
offdea@gmail.com
Education Auditory
Professional Rights and ResponsibilitiesLisa Alva
l.alva.mba@gmail.com
Roosevelt HS
PsychologistsYvette Foster-
Raza EducationKelly Flores
 
-
Salary and School Finance

Lisa Karahalios
lilykat8@aol.com

Millikan Middle School
School/Community RelationsLorena Valenzuela
lorenatv@aol.com
Judith Baca Arts Academy
Secondary CommitteeDiane Newell
dianenewell@aol.com
Porter Ranch School
Secondary School CounselorsReina Gallardo
reina.gallardo@yahoo.com
Thomas Jefferson HS
Special EducationLucia Arias
seeyacia@aol.com
Knollwood ES
SubstitutesKaren Morgan
professormorgan@msn.com
Secondary Substitute N/Valley Area
Support Cadre Resisting Administrative Maltreatment (SCRAM)No Current Chair-
Unjustly Jailed Teachers CommitteeArlene Schery
bebo511@yahoo.com
-
UTLA-represented Charter SchoolsCreated May 22, 2013-
Violence Prevention and School SafetyMark Wilkins
edgeucationnewmedia@yahoo.com
Lincoln HS
Women's EducationLinda Guthrie
sideshowsmama@hotmail.com
Thomas Starr King MS