UTLA Retired

United Teachers Los Angeles - Retired

UTLA-R Newsletter

Newsletter Graphic

Other items of interest

This committee serves as the representative body for those certificated employees of LAUSD who have retired. They:

- work through UTLA to improve the welfare of public education and retired teachers
- secure for retired teachers their deserved status among America's professionals
- provide a vehicle for unified action in concert with other organizations to represent and monitor concerns of retired teachers.

UTLA-R Membership Benefits

Membership in UTLA-R brings you continuation of the United Teacher newspaper, continued benefits from your UTLA Membership Card, representation in the UTLA Board of Directors and the UTLA House of Representatives, participation in UTLA-R elections and activities, political representation in Sacramento, and additional benefits. 

There are also four UTLA-R General Assembly meetings each year for members to get updates and information on Health Benefits, STRS, and other important issues.

The 2015-2016 meeting dates are:

  • *Oct 16, 2015
  • *Jan 22, 2016
  • *March 18, 2016
  • *May 20, 2016

*Social time (food and drink) begins at 10 a.m. prior to each meeting date.

UTLA-R Membership Application

UTLA membership does not automatically continue into retirement. If you have not already done so, you should join UTLA-Retired at the very nominal investment of $2.38/month deducted from your STRS pension. 

If you would like to become a UTLA-R Life Member, ($358.30), call UTLA Membership Services at 1 (800) 556-8852 for an application or for more information. Click here to download and print the application.


Contact UTLA-R

Your officers and other Steering Committee members are unpaid and elected by the membership to represent you. Their job is to act on your concerns on the will of the membership. They are dedicated to improving retiree health benefits, protecting and improving state benefits and promoting the welfare of UTLA retirees. 

Your UTLA-R leaders are:

All the UTLA-R leaders are on the Steering Committee.

House of Representative members:

Cecelia Boskin

  Mike Dreebin

  Emily Ettinger

  Eva Giese

  Jimmie Woods-Gray

  John Perez

  Jane Sakamoto

  Hildreth Simmons

  Pat Stanyo

  Bill Taxerman

  Loretta Toggenburger 

House of Reps alternates:

Sandy Keaton

  Janet Lucar

  Andy Otero

  Pete Paladino

  Sue Solomon

"At Large" Steering Committee members:

  Mary Rose Ortega

  Susie Chow

  Darlene Arcadi

  Hattie McFrazier

  Dan Tarquin

Additional UTLA-R volunteers (not on the Steering Committee):

  •   Bruce Lee: UTLA-R e-mail messenger:  utla-r@roadrunner.com
  •   Iris Edinger: Historian
  •   Tomas Junge: General Assembly meeting refreshment coordinator

UTLA-R Events

The UTLA-R Steering Committee meets the same day as the UTLA House of Representatives at 1:30pm in Room 816. The UTLA-R General Assembly meets four Friday mornings each year in the second floor auditorium of the UTLA Building.