'WHO' Awards

Print this page.

Annual WHO Awards Dinner

Save the Date

NEW DATE: Monday, April 22, 2019

Location: TBD

The "We Honor Ours" (WHO) awards are granted annually to UTLA/NEA members and organizations, who have given exemplary or outstanding service to UTLA in the effort to support public school and public education.

If you have any questions or concerns, please email Vivian Vega at vvega@utla.net or call 213.487.5560.



2018 Awards Dinner

2018 WHO Awards

Above, the recipients from 2018 are honored at a dinner held at the Castaway in Burbank, April 23, 2018.



2018 Recipients

Local "WHO" Awards
  • Ricardo Abreu
  • Ebony Bastiste
  • Joyce Jennings
  • Stacie Webster
  • Raissa White
State "WHO" Awards
  • Michael Gonzales
Gold "WHO" Awards
  • Padres Unidos — South Gate
  • Reclaim Our Schools, Los Angeles (ROS-LA)


2017 “WHO” Awards Recipients

View list of recipients

  • Bodin Adler
  • Olga Calacuayo
  • Lisa Dinwiddie
  • Joseph Esterman
  • Leonard Goldberg
  • Teri Harnik
  • Jennifer McAfee
  • Patrick Meyer
  • William Page
  • Ana Marcela Rubio
  • Eddie Monroe-Smith
  • Yolando Spencer-Tamayo
  • Scotty Stewart
  • Betty Vick
  • Anne Zerrien-Lee
State “WHO” Award

UTLA/NEA member who has given outstanding service at the state or nationals levels of UTLA.

  • Gregg Solkovits
Gold Community Award

Person or orhanization whose leadership acts and support have demonstrated the person or organization to be a true friend of public education, educators or students meriting UTLA/NEA recognition.

  • Graciela Ortiz, Mayor of Huntington Park, Schools L.A. Students Deserve Grassroots Coalition



2016 “WHO” Awards Recipients:

  • Jennifer Albright
  • Darlene Haezaert-Caraveo
  • Erica Huerta
  • Cynthia Matthews
  • Stacey Michaels
  • Claudia Rodriguez
  • Tom Rubio
  • Rosalyn Williams
  • Sydney Yarbrough-Baune
State “WHO” Award
  • Sonia Martin-Solis
Gold Community Award
  • Efrén Martinez, CEO, The Florence-Firestone/Walnut Park Chamber of Commerce


WHO Recipients from 1994-2016